PDA

View Full Version : Why has my POP3 changed?


dps
25th Nov 2006, 10:48 am
Hi. Have just joined and this is my first post, so hope this forum is ok for the question.

Reason I joined is because a strange thing has just started to happen and I am not sure why. When my emails start loading it states it is from.
phil.livedns.co.uk. My ISP broardband etc is now called Orange, was wanadoo, before that, freeserve. In the past it was always listed as one of them. It does seem that my emails are working ok, but I am puzzled.

Yesterday I registered a domain and got an email account with 123-reg. In my searches to find what this phil.livedns.co.uk is I have seen similar things being connected with 123-reg. When I got my email address it said I have to activate it by sending an email to my the email address.

So is this all related, if so why, will it cause me any problems, ie is it a possible high jack?

Another reason I decided to join your forums is I have just started (at the age of 70) to build websites. I have no knowledge at all about things like html etc but will try to learn. At present I am using Serifs WebPlus10, which I find ideal for people like me.

I look forward to your advice on my question, many thanks, dps.:)

David
26th Nov 2006, 12:34 am
Hi, dps and welcome to the forum. Respect to you for starting web design at the age of 70!

livedns.co.uk is the domain name used by Fasthosts to identify domains hosted with them and is used as the server host record for all domains that do not have private domain host records. I guess the mail service you are using is hosted with Fasthosts? The POP (incomming mail) account will be on a Fasthost server.

It's perfectly normal.

Details: http://samspade.org/whois/livedns.co.uk

dps
26th Nov 2006, 10:12 am
Hi David and thanks for your reply.
I am pleased to hear it is something that is considered normal, but I am now even more confused:unsure:

All my domains and email accounts conneted with the domains are registered with 123-reg. Other than having a look at the fasthost site, I have never had anything to do with them?

Any ideas

Thanks dps

David
26th Nov 2006, 09:10 pm
I would guess that 123-Reg are using Fasthosts to provide their email services and maybe hosting also. Have a look what the DNS settings are for your domains.